Learning To Accept The Less Than Bright Parts Of Me

Getting older means growing wiser and accepting hard truths about yourself and the world

It's Ericajean
4 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Image by HANSUAN FABREGAS from Pixabay

A long while ago, I wrote an essay on how in the future , I will accept crows feet near my eyes as I get older and thunder thighs along with other ailments that come with age no matter what. However, I only partially believe all of that as I exercise and practice self care this can certainly make one gorgeous no matter what age. I am learning also, that ego can stop progression in middle age life.

Last week(on a Tuesday), I had the most unbelievably hard time at work. There are several changes taking place, and although I was hired to do one thing, the last three years ,my team and I have been tasked with another. Now, the company is switching to what my original position entailed in the beginning and we are in scrambles because we do not know what to do.

I’ve been placed on an “action plan” because for some reason I just can’t keep up. I stormed about this for an hour on Tuesday. I did not like how my boss was talking to me. I do not like that I have to be placed on any , plan as if I am less than intelligent. I do not enjoy being in a position where every day I am floundering around lost.

--

--

It's Ericajean

Essayist and poet | Author of Rumors of Ouroboros . Learn more about Erica at https://linktr.ee/itsericajean/