I Think I Sacrificed A Lot For Christianity

A bold look at my return on investment for this religion

It's Ericajean
5 min readFeb 28, 2024

--

Image designed by author/Photography by TUBARONES PHOTOGRAPHY

I think my belief system needs a magic resize and “retouch” like the Canva tool. I’ve just been reflecting a lot on what I’ve gotten in return for believing in Jesus and the picture does look a little scary once examined.

Before I was even “saved”, I wanted to know God. I was younger than 13 and was drawn to the red New Testament book my grandmother had. The one separated from the risqué Harlequin novels in her woven basket next to her bed. I was attracted to the red cover and did not know that a couple of years later I would be in a full blown love affair with God and his son Jesus.

Let me explain something to you: when a person is first saved, every dream is a good dream. You blossom, you are giddy and you make new friends. It’s a relationship — in fact, many Christians will tell you that this is not a religion per se, but a personal call to Christ.

For teenagers who are in the fold, this can be a double edged sword. For me, when I was in high school, I realized that the people who were bullies or arrogant, could be sons and daughters of Satan. This explained a lot and released a burden. I had Jesus to go to when Dad and I would argue. Sometimes he and I argued about me attending church.

--

--

It's Ericajean

Essayist and poet | Author of Rumors of Ouroboros . Learn more about Erica at https://linktr.ee/itsericajean/