Here’s An Old School Way to Cleanse Your Colon

My humble prune juice poop story you don’t want but need

It's Ericajean
4 min readApr 24, 2022

--

Image designed in Canva by Ericajean

When I was little, I remember not only taking those colorful, bad tasting rocks called Flintstones vitamins, but my mother would also have me and my sister take those silly, sickening laxative tablets (that were made for kids) and I remember dreading them because I knew it would make me have an…unhappy experience on the toilet, if you get my drift.

Later on, as I got just a bit older, my mother introduced us to Prune Juice. A brown drink made of hydrated prunes and water. I remember that the difference was that this particular drink brought me to the toilet faster. From there, I associated prunes and prune juice with interesting throne room visits, and I avoided it for many years afterwards.

At the end of the day, I am actually thankful for my mom caring about my gut health.

Why am I telling you all this?

As we get older, our bodies need a bit of help in cleansing itself.

Some people try rich diets, exercise, and may even sleep well. But what many do not realize, is if you are not cleaning your gut — you will not see optimal results. Our gut health is the backbone of our immune system. It is also the “seat” of our weight gain issues and toxins.

--

--

It's Ericajean

Essayist and poet | Author of Rumors of Ouroboros . Learn more about Erica at https://linktr.ee/itsericajean/